Nitish Kumar wins trust vote in Bihar Assembly

Nitish Kumar wins trust vote in Bihar Assembly

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Wednesday won trust vote in Bihar Assembly with 140 votes in his favour.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) walked out of the Bihar assembly during the confidence vote of Nitish Kumar, accusing him of insulting Mahadalit leader Jitan Ram Manjhi by removing him from the chief minister’s post.

Apparently convinced that the Janata Dal-United government led by Nitish Kumar has adequate support to win the trust vote, the BJP legislators walked out of the house after attacking the chief minister.

“There is no need to waste time to listen to reply of chief minister. We are walking out of the state assembly,” Leader of Opposition Nandkishore Yadav said in the assembly.

With the BJP staging a walk-out, it is certain that Nitish Kumar will smoothly prove his majority.

Kumar, who was sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister for the fourth time on February 22, had been directed by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi to seek a trust vote on March 11.

The JD-U had issued a whip to all its 110 members in the Assembly, excluding Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary, to vote for the trust motion, Parliamentary Affairs minister and JD(U) Chief Whip Shrawan Kumar said.

After Governor K.N. Tripathi addressed the joint sitting of the Bihar legislature, Nitish Kumar moved a confidence motion for his government.

Nitish Kumar last year resigned as chief minister after the JD-U’s rout in the Lok Sabha polls. Manjhi, who was made chief minister in May 2014, resigned on February 20 after a political crisis.

The Bihar Assembly at present has an effective strength of 233 with 10 vacancies. The magic figure is 117. With 110 JD(U) members, 24 RJD, 5 Congress, 1 CPI and some Independents among five, Nitish Kumar seems confident of sailing through.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *