Home Minister Rajnath Singh pays tribute to BSF plane crash victims

Home Minister Rajnath Singh pays tribute to BSF plane crash victims

Home Minister Rajnath Singh today paid homage to the 10 paramilitary personnel who died as a Border Security Force (BSF) plane crashed near the Delhi airport on Tuesday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had yesterday expressed grief and distress at the loss of lives in the plane crash in the national capital.

Nine BSF troopers and a Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) co-pilot were killed when a chartered plane flying to Ranchi crashed here on Tuesday morning soon after take off.

The pilot and co-pilot died in the incident so did eight others of the Border Security Force, the BSF said.

BSF Director General D.K. Pathak announced a compensation of Rs.15 lakh for the families of each deceased.

“An amount of Rs.15 lakh will be given from the BSF internal fund in addition to Rs.10 lakh, which is the ex-gratia from the government,” he told media.

The passengers were identified as Deputy Commandant D. Kumar, Inspectors S.N. Sharma, Ravindra Kumar Yadav, Sub-Inspectors Chotte Lal Sharma, Surender Singh, Rabinder Kumar, Assistant Sub-Inspector D.P. Chauhan and Constable R.K. Rawat.

The pilot was Bhagwati Prasad Bhatt, a resident of Dehradun, and the co-pilot was Rajesh Shivrain, who was attached to the SSB. Shivrain hailed from Bhiwani in Haryana.

Two of the nine BSF personnel hailed from Haryana. Three of them were residents of Uttar Pradesh, one from Bihar and the remaining two personnel belonged to Punjab and Odisha. All of them were residing in Delhi.

Minister of State for Civil Aviation Mahesh Sharma said the government had ordered an inquiry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *