Thu. Jan 23rd, 2020

Delhi Bypoll – Will BJP be able to retain all three seats, questions Arvind Kejriwal

2 min read

Delhi Bypoll

As the bypolls in Delhi’s three Assembly constituencies inch closer, political parties seem to be gearing up to prove their mettle. With battle quite apparent between BJP and AAP, the latter’s convenor Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday raised doubts on the possibility of former regaining the three seats.

Kejriwal took to Twitter today and said that the big question is whether BJP will be able to retain the three seats.

In the Delhi Assembly elections held last year, Tughlakabad, Krishna Nagar and Mehrauli Assembly seats were occupied by BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri, Harsh Vardhan and Parvesh Sahib Singh respectively. However, the victory margin between BJP and AAP was quite low on two of the three seats.

Now since all three BJP’s representatives have got elected to Lok Sabha, speculations are rife about whom will the BJP field in the three constituencies.

Meanwhile, the BJP today held its first election panel meeting wherein state BJP affairs in-charge Prabhat Jha, Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay and other leaders discussed the names of candidates for these seats, said a senior party leader, adding that several other meetings were also held.

“The final list of candidates will be sent to Central Election Committee by tomorrow. Thereafter, the picture will get clear,” he said.

“State unit chief Upahdyay and organisation general secretary Vijay Sharma have been given responsibility to select candidates for these three seats,” he further added.

The by-polls of all the three seats will take place on November 25.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *