AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi seat

Arvind Kejriwal

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief and former chief minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest the upcoming assembly elections from his New Delhi constituency, the party declared on Wednesday.

The AAP chief defeated three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit in 2013 in the constituency by over 26,000 votes. He then headed a minority government for 49 days.

Kejriwal’s name figured in the fifth list of eight candidates announced by the Aam Aadmi Party. It has so far declared 59 candidates for elections expected to be held in February. Delhi elects 70 legislators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *